Veg Scoop

Turning over to a vegetarian life.

The Different Types Of Vegetarians

Posted on | May 22, 2013 | Comments Off on The Different Types Of Vegetarians

Just as people have different reasons for being vegetarian, there are different types of vegetarians. Some people are vegetarian for animal rights reasons, some are selective or conscious eaters for their health, and some are vegetarians for religious reasons. Some of the different types of vegetarians are lacto vegetarians, lacto-ovo vegetarians, vegetarians of fishing and vegans. None of these types of vegetarians eat meat or poultry; vegetarians of fishing are are only vegetarians who eat fish. Lacto them vegetarians are vegetarians who eat dairy products however, not eat eggs. The Lacto-ovo vegetarians are as vegetarian lacto, but these include eggs in their diet for vegetarians. Fishing vegetarians eat everything the lacto-ovo vegetarians consume, but addition fish to your diet. Vegans are distinguished from all other types of vegetarians since they eat only foods of plant origin and do not consume animal products of any kind.

Diet vegena is the most strict vegetarian diet. Vegans they should plan their diet carefully to make sure that they get all the nutrients they need each day. They tend to be prone to deficiencies in protein, calcium, iron, zinc and vitamin B12. Vegans can develop a deficiency of proteins because proteins of vegetable origin are incomplete proteins. Given that the human body cannot manufacture all the necessary amino acids to build proteins, which depend on food to supply our bodies with complete proteins. The sources of animal protein are complete proteins, since they contain all the necessary amino acids to build a line of protein. However, using a concept called courtesy of different plant food proteins can be combined to form complete proteins. Common courtesy protein combinations are grains like beans some vegetables.

The rice and beans or a peanut butter sandwich can work very well as a complete protein. Dairy products as the cheese, eggs, are complete proteins, so for most of the other types of vegetarians obtain proteins is not a problem. Vegans for their part must eat dried fruits, legumes and seeds in combination with whole grains and soy foods to form complete proteins. Vegetarians can get calcium and vitamin D from milk, however, vegans can drink with calcium and vitamin D. soy milk Tofu, broccoli, nuts, pulses, seeds and some ready to eat cereals contain some calcium. Calcium-fortified orange juice is also available as it is also possible to find some benefits of natural juices. Although animal iron is more easily absorbed by the body, vegetarians can obtain iron by combining a food with high content of vitamin C with iron-rich food to help the body to better absorb this element. Tofu and broccoli or whole wheat toast, orange juice, spinach and the tomatoes are some examples of good combinations. Vitamin B12 is only found in animal proteins therefore vegetarians need to eat cereals and vegetarian burgers that have B12. An adequate amount of zinc found in dairy foods, so all the different types of vegetarians, except vegans can obtain sufficient zinc in these foods. Seeds, nuts, cheese soy, legumes, wheat germ and bran are common sources of zinc for vegans. However, some vegans take a multivitamin complex that includes zinc, since it is more difficult for the body to absorb the non-animal sources of zinc.


Comments are closed.